The Bridge


The Bridge over the river Maigue was built by Gerald, fifth Earl of Kildare, whose earldom extended from 1390 to 1410, and so it was built sometime between those two dates. The original bridge was extremely narrow and barely wide enough for a cart to pass by. Chevron-like openings or “v” shaped set-backs were built to one side of the bridge to allow pedestrians to take refuge. These features were retained when the bridge was widened by the Earl of Dunraven.

THE 2027 RYDER CUP - Adare, Co. Limerick

Latest News

The latest news from Adare

More stories from the adare village website blog

Contact us

For further queries please feel free to contact us using the form below

Explore Adare, Ireland's most picturesque village